menu close open event RSVP required ticketed event
Toggle Search

Virtual Rehoming

This is a free listing for an animal in the community who is in need of a new home. This animal is not available for adoption at the Wisconsin Humane Society, but is being re-homed by members of the community. For more information, you can contact the animal's current guardian using the contact information below. Thank you!


Tula Animal Is Rehomed!

Age: 3
Species: dog
Gender: Female
Breed: American Pitbull Terrier (I think)
Animal Weight: 60 lbs.
Animal Color: Fawn
Rehoming Fee: 250 *will include toys, leash, harness
My two favorite things about Tula: She is an absolute sweetheart and LOVES to cuddle. I'll miss the cuddling the most, I think! She is such a cutie pie, too! Look at that face!
Contact Info:

Current Location: Milwaukee, WI
Is Tula spayed or neutered? yes
Is Tula up to date on vaccinations? yes
Why the animal is being rehomed: Tula needs a home that can dedicate more time and energy to her as she is a very active girl. She hasn't gotten used to living in an apartment and barks a lot with people constantly coming in and out and lots of noises in the neighborhood. She just doesn't seem to be comfortable with it. She should also have more space than a small apartment given her energy level. This is a really difficult decision for me but I truly feel that she deserves so much more than I can consistently provide to her.
What are your two favorite things about Tula? She is an absolute sweetheart and LOVES to cuddle. I'll miss the cuddling the most, I think! She is such a cutie pie, too! Look at that face!
How long have you had Tula? Almost 3 months.
Where did you get Tula? Wisconsin Humane Society in Milwaukee.
Has Tula ever bitten someone? No
What, if any, medical or behavioral concerns does Tula have? She had an ear infection in both ears when I adopted her that was treated by the Humane Society. It's cleared up and it has not been a problem since. Behaviorally she either has some dog aggression, at least with dogs she doesn't know, OR, it's possible it's simply leash reactivity. She lived with other dogs prior to living with myself and the Humane Society didn't note that she showed any aggression prior to being surrendered there nor during her behavioral assessment there. At times, she just seems extra excited when she sees another dog and will whine and bark and pull on her leash. I honestly can't really tell if she really wants to play or if she's becoming a bit aggressive. We walked at a dog park where 3 unleashed dogs came up to her and she ignored 2 that came right up to her and smelled her. She seemed fixated on the 1 dog that didn't come up to her.
Has Tula lived with other animals? Yes
If yes to the above, which animals has Tula lived with? She lived with 2 other dogs prior to living with me. I'm not sure of their age, gender, or breed.
Has Tula actively fought with other animals in the home? No
If yes to the above, please explain the circumstances: *no other animals in the home.
Does/did Tula hide from other animals in the home? No
If yes to the above, please explain the circumstances: *no other animals in the home.
How does Tula interact with animals outside of the home? Yes. She will bark and sometimes whine a bit if she sees or hears another dog. If we are walking, she pulls at her leash and will keep looking back at them and whine when I try to keep her moving away from them. During a very quick interaction with a few dogs we ran into while walking, she's never started a fight or hurt any other dog.
Are you requiring that Tula not go into a family with certain types of pets? Yes
If yes to the above, please explain which types of pets you are restricting: I think it's best that Tula be the only animal in a home. It may be that she would be OK but based on the reaction I've seen from her with other dogs, I'm not sure she would do well with other animals in the home.
Has Tula lived with any children under 18? Yes
Tula has lived with children of these ages: She lived with 3 children prior to living with me but I'm not sure of their ages. I believe at least 1 of them was a toddler.
Does/did Tula hide or avoid children in the home? No
If yes to the above, please explain the circumstances: *not sure.
Does/did Tula display any forms of aggression toward children in the home? Yes
If yes to the above, please explain the circumstances: The family that surrendered her to the Humane Society mentioned she had shown food and toy guarding/aggression towards one of the kids (the toddler). There was no mention of her hurting the child.
Are you requiring that Tula not go into a family with children under a certain age? Yes
If yes to the above, please list your restrictions: I think she would be okay with older kids because of the history but also because she gets excited and could knock over smaller children. So I'd say she shouldn't be homed with kids under 15.
Does Tula have any fears? She does not like the vacuum at all! She barks at it.
Tula's overall activity level: Very active/high energy
How does Tula usually get exercise? Daily walks, Playing while tethered outside, Playing indoors,
What should the next family should know about Tula: Tula is one of the best dogs I've ever known. That makes it so much harder to make the decision to re-home her. She is a loving, lovable, fun, energetic, happy, silly girl. She will make you laugh on the regular. If you want a cuddle bug, Tula is your girl! She will be so excited to greet you when you get home. If you want a companion while you're exercising, she'd be perfect. I think she could do great as a jogging partner. She loves to roll around in the grass, even when it's rainy. She just wants to have fun. She's good about taking baths, she seems eager to learn more tricks and training, she is very food-motivated which also helps with training. She does pretty well when left alone in the house while I'm at work. She has full range of the apartment unit and as long as she has toys to focus on, she's good to go! She is very friendly when meeting new people, too. She'll make them feel right at home. I feel very safe in my home with her there as no noise seems to get past her. I will say I've been working with her on the barking when I'm home with reward-based training so I think that's something to continue working on and/or she could probably do very well in a home. If you have a fenced in yard, that would be a major bonus! She loves running around. She won't urinate all at one time so just know just one squat isn't enough for this baby. If you let her walk around a few times and tell her to go potty, she will eventually empty her bladder. She will let you know when she has to go. I can't really say enough good things about her. I would be happy to give any more information about her if you have questions and can share more pictures and videos if you'd like. If you're interested, please feel free to email me. I should be able to get back to you same day. I'm very open to having her meet you if you'd like to visit her once or more to see how things go. :-)